Image

Infographic – Shrimp ‘mortality syndrome’ driving up shrimp prices, lowering catch numbers

Infographic - Shrimp 'mortality syndrome' driving up shrimp prices, lowering catch numbers

Nice clean infographic explaining something I didn’t know before today. I’m interested in the small table at bottom right; China/India/Thailand/Vietnam is where a great deal of our heavy and high tech industry is headed, but they are also catching the majority of our shrimp, which are basically tiny garbage cleaners on the bottom of the ocean. I’m pretty skeeved out by the fact that some of the most heavily polluted waters in the world are also where we catch our shrimp? I’m aware that boats aren’t necessarily restricted to the territorial waters around their own countries but I’m not sure what fraction of the shrimp catch comes from these regions vs. other regions.

