The state of 100m running: The best times of 2013 and the current doping scandal

I try and avoid reading about politics in sport. I will actively avoid articles about cricket selection committees, rugby television broadcast deals, whether or not AOD-9604 is banned in the AFL etc. because I enjoy watching the sport and I feel that all the talk detracts from the game. That said, there’s a point where I can’t ignore it any more and my interest in the sport falls off a cliff. I’ve been an avid Tour de France viewer since I was a kid, but I just stopped caring 2-3 years ago; all my heroes (Pantani, Armstrong, Ulrich, Vinokourov, Contador) were banned and I just gave up.

I’m following the recent news about Asafa Powell and Tyson Gay failing drug tests – I feel that the sport is at a cliff for me. A little bit more and I think I will become disillusioned with the 100m run; instead of being a highlight of the Olympic Games it will be something I no longer bother to watch.

Anyway, I became curious about how many of the current crop were suspect. I don’t follow the sport closely, so what I did was look up all the runs for 2013 that were under 10 seconds, made a list and looked up each name in Google individually. I did three searches for each name (I’ll use Usain Bolt as an example):

* Usain Bolt drugs

* Usain Bolt doping

* Usain Bolt wikipedia

 

usain-bolt

 

Pic stolen from Wikipedia: (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Usain_Bolt)

 

If any of the searches brought up an article about doping on the first page, I marked that name in red. The list is below. I’m aware that you can fail a drug test without being a drug cheat, so if you see a name in red it doesn’t mean they’re cheaters, it only means I found an article about doping when I typed in their name, after a 5 second search. Also I suppose it’s possible that the names in black may have been banned without my knowledge. Take it for what it is.

Links:

2013 run times taken from this list of fastest 100m runs ever: (link)

BBC article about the current doping scandal: (link)

Image

